2003-01-20 - 10:09 p.m.

So I'm doing my own laundry these days, and have been taking the stairs in between loads. This cold weather is not helping my gym motivation, and I'm sure as hell not walking to work in it either, so I'm trying to get my exercise where I can, and it's 12 floors.

At each floor there is a landing, and a little hallway leading to the apartment hallway, where the freight elevator is. You put your garbage and recycling there, and they come and take it, twice a day, on the freight elevator.

So, because I'm a freak, I use this to motivate myself to get to the next floor - I get to look at people's recycling. How fucked up is that? I can't help myself.. and I have to wonder who it is that's drinking a case of yoo-hoo a week. But anyway, I have started to do something new in this little routine. I take people's magazines that they put out for recycling, if I want to read them. I suppose there's nothing wrong with that, I'll recycle them myself when I'm done, but it seems somehow shameful. Garbage picking, heh. I do it furtively, too, worried that someone will open the door and see me sliding New York magazine out of the stack.

We had no heat in the office today (it was officially closed for MLK day, but I, of course, had to work) so I split at 5 and came home and made dinner, ordered Girl Snout cookies from my niece over the phone, and then went out to the drugstore and R1cky's and to get a bikini wax. Then came home, listened to Deb vent about work, and did a few loads of laundry. The boyfriend comes home tonight, so this last hour of solitude is bittersweet. Off to watch 0z in the bathtub. Last season of 0z, bummer.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com