2003-01-22 - 4:43 p.m.

Often in NYC, when a construction company or business is pissing off the labor unions, they announce their feelings to the city by inflating a giant grey rat outside their building or site. It has big inflatable buck teeth, is probably about 20 feet high, and has wires holding its arms (arms?) out in claws. It's startling, and a little creepy, the first time you see it, but if you walk by and read the signs or the handouts, you get it. They're rats, they get a giant rat.

This morning, turning the corner onto my street, I saw an inflatable 20 foot blue gorilla. As I approached, I saw the hand lettered sign protesting unfair business practices by a management company. But why a gorilla? Wouldn't it make more sense to buy a backup rat in case the first one is in use? Why make the secondary protest prop a gorilla? I don't get the message. Where's the insult in a blue gorilla?

Last night the boyfriend and I braved the extremity-freezing cold to walk over to 14th Street to a new restaurant I've been dying to try, Cr1spo. Oh my god, it was amazing... we had polenta with fresh mozzarella and their famous prosciutto (hot), butternut squash ravioli in a sage butter sauce, the best veal marsala I've ever had in my life, asparagus au gratin, and broccoli rabe with garlic and oil. MMMMMMMM. If you are in the area I highly recommend it. It was almost worth the hour it took me to defrost when I got home.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com