2003-02-08 - 3:25 p.m.

Well, today wasn't quite as bad as I expected, other than the getting out of bed part. The (winged) meeting went great, and the store trip even better, and I walked home in the sunshine, and now I'm going to clean this nasty apartment. And about the winging it - see, this is why I'm stuck in this rut. If I wing it, and it works, that's just more reinforcement for the profit/output equation I apply to my career. Doesn't motivate me to strive, if you see what I mean.

I was feeling a little guilt-driven to go to my parents in NJ, to see them before I leave for Veg@s next Sunday. But the week will be insane, and I have a million errands to run, and I need to do some trip-shopping, so am staying put. My friend Ken, who is going through a difficult divorce, is coming in for dinner, and I'm glad we'll finally be able to talk. His wife is gone, blatantly and seriously dating someone else already, and they share custody of their daughter, 50/50. Except that her 50 is more like 30, complete with last minute cancellations and late arrivals. He accepts this, is lost there in their house when his daughter is with her mother, and it's been months since I've seen him. So we'll go somewhere in the neighborhood for dinner, and maybe out for a drink or two, and then he'll go home and I'll chill out for a while and then sleep in tomorrow. Yoga, for sure, and then all my running around. Maybe I'll cook for the week, when I'll be wiped at the end of the day. A little preemptive damage control.

Ok, off to clean. Oh, also - if you remember, we hired the wife of one of the doormen to clean our apartment. At the time, I was worried about how much they'd know about us, but I didn't imagine the actual outcome: she's no good. I finally gave in on the houseman issue, and told him to hire his own old cleaning person, so he told the doorman we wouldn't be using his wife. And the other day, a different doorman, not her husband, says to me "I hear Susan won't be cleaning your apartment any more." Jeez. Another faux pas, apparently. Dammit.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com