2003-02-17 - 10:41 p.m.

While I'm thoroughly enjoying the beautiful Las Vegas weather, I am a little bummed out to be missing the big blizzard in NY. I watched the news this morning, longingly, and saw footage of people in my neighborhood snow-shoeing down the normally traffic congested streets. FEET of snow in the city, and I'm missing it. There is nothing like it, the city blanketed in white, the normal background noise of traffic and horns and sirens silenced, and people outside, walking in the middle of the street and making snowmen. Damnit. By the time I get home it will be a grey, urine stained mess.

So two nights in a row of updates, miraculous. The reason for this is that I'm boring. And exhausted. I went to dinner tonight, my only night of non-work recreation, and after a mojito and a half I could have put my face down in my pad thai and gone to sleep right there at the table.

I was up early this morning, and we set up for tomorrow (I'm here for a convention, but we are not actually IN the convention center, that would be too easy, and too conventional, for my company) in the giant tent that we construct for the occasion, complete with runway and DJ booth and bar. I then went to a hotel down the block for a corporate meeting, and then broke it all down, brought everything back to the tent, and set it all up again. Spent a half hour listening to the models whine about the clothes, and came back to the hotel to spend an hour in the business center, printing out emails and collecting packages and faxes, and then to dinner. Wiped. And as for the models - after I have just spent 10 hours unpacking boxes and strategizing the weeks meetings, and fielding phone calls, I have very little tolerance for pissy 21 year olds who don't think the skirts are short enough. "I just don't think this look is ME."

Boo-fucking-hoo, honey. Sweaty and exhausted with a chipped manicure from prying open boxes ain't exactly my look, either. Suck it up.

And let's talk, for a moment, shall we, about the man in the room next to mine. He is either holed up in there with his nymphomaniac girlfriend, or he's entertaining a steady stream of hookers, and from the sound of things I'd say it ain't the former. And if there's anything uglier than hearing some middle aged man hack and cough in the middle of his loud groaning, it's having to hear it first thing in the morning, before I've had my coffee. If it keeps up tomorrow, I'm going to have to move my room. And if it keeps me up tonight, I'm going over there and banging on the door. They really should make these walls a little thicker.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com