2003-03-03 - 10:05 p.m.

I have nothing to say lately, have been forcing myself to write in my paper journal, and it is truly horrendous drivel. What I bought at the grocery store, the sky outside the window, and random to do lists. I have decided to just sit with this open in my lap, and see what comes up. I want to be writing, just for writing's sake.

Had a low key weekend. Friday night we went to dinner at our neighborhood Italian, and after a glass of wine I bailed out of our drink plans, and came home and vegged on the couch till the boyfriend got home. Saturday I went and had a paraffin manicure and pedicure, and a bikini wax. I love the paraffin thing, having my feet and hands dipped in that hot wax, taken out for a minute to set, and thrust back in to thicken the layer. Then they wrap them in plastic wrap, and put these heated electric mitts and booties on you. HEAVEN. And my feet are soft and painted again (Essie's Sway Date, in case you care), and my hands, too, although my nails are almost too short to manicure. And while you sit under the dryers there, the manicurist stands behind you and gives you a shoulder and neck massage. A little pampering actually made me feel more human, stupid as that is.

Saturday night we tried to go to G0nz0, early, to eat at the bar ( I love when restaurants serve full meals at the bar, I'm not sure why) but by 6:30 it was already a mob scene. So we made an alternate choice, and then came home to watch the fight. Little known Trouble fact: I am a huge fight fan. And R0y J0nes is my all-time favorite, so we ordered it on pay per view, clicked around through the first two fights, and watched the first four rounds, when the channel suddenly went black, and a box appeared on the screen, stating ' We are sorry for the inconvenience...' and it never came back on. Dammit.

And Sunday, I did a whole lot of nothing. Laundry, book shopping, grocery shopping, cleaning, TV watching. So I feel a little better. The boyfriend is away tonight at a work retreat, so yesterday I washed the sheets and changed the bed. The boyfriend called last night when he got there, and asked me if I missed him, and I said, yes, yes, I miss you. But I changed the sheets, so you know what that means. He laughed, and said, Yeah, I know, you don't really miss me, you have the envelope.

The envelope is my preferred method of bed-sleeping. Sheets tucked in at the bottom and the sides, blanket and comforter on top, and I slide in there to sleep and when I wake up, and slide out, the bed is almost made, still. LOVE that. Hotel beds are the best, except I always feel a little...well, itchy...when I sleep on hotel sheets, and the blankets gross me out too. I like how tightly they're bound, though.

The boyfriend, however, is a thrasher of the highest order. When we sleep together, he kicks and tosses and pulls everything out and around, so when I get out of the shower and look at the empty bed, it looks like a nest. And there's no stopping it, either. I've tried everything short of restraints (hmmm...) So while I miss him most at bedtime when we're apart, and I miss cuddling up to him in bed, I've got the envelope. And it's no small consolation, either

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com