2003-03-21 - 9:42 p.m.

I simply cannot bring myself to write about this war, the constant inner debate that goes on in my head, twenty clashing views, all resulting in the arrogance with which we flaunt the whole purpose of the UN. This causes my mother to call me ANTI-WAR, which I find unjust. I have no doubt about the evil of Saddam Hussein, but we can't disregard the implications of our arrogance. And on the other hand, what's 30 days? No acceptable options? I don't know. I still think women should be running this show. Women would work it out somehow, before they'd send their sons to war. Eh.

And the fact that I can't write about it, can't organize it in any coherent fashion, keeps me from writing at all.

So it's blissful Friday. Last night we went out to dinner at Gr@n0, and went to bed early, to christen our fancy new sheets. And tonight it's raining, lightning and all, and I have the windows open, watching the sky light up through the window panels. I have made many plans this weekend, because although I still feel I need ME time, de-stressing, I've been feeling a bit isolated lately.

So tonight I came home, and emerged from the subway to pouring rain. Umbrella? At home. Went to the drugstore, browsed around till the rain let up, and walked home in the light drizzle. I stopped in at the florist on the corner of Greenwich, and bought tulips - bright yellow and purple, and came home and cooked dinner and made plans with Ellen tomorrow, for breakfast and jean shopping, and manicures and pedicures, although she doesn't know that part yet.

Then my NJ girlfriends are coming in tomorrow night, at least two of them, and I'll be glad to see them, although will have to make some dinner reservations. And my Mom and our mutual friend are coming in Sunday morning, for brunch and old lady shopping and possibly the farmers market. Probably won't have time for yoga, but I think I need the company more.

I have also been roped into helping steady a pending bridal shower, the plans of which are unravelling in a rapid downward spiral. The boyfriend warned me, he did, but you know, I never listen. "Honey, she's your MOTHER," I said. "Don't tell her not to bother me with it, I'll help her." HA! She has decided on a date for this affair, exactly one month away. She is overwhelmed, helplessly floundering in the details of actually DOING something. She is a woman of leisure, and her life has become very small. The littlest thing, going to the post office, walking the dog, turns into an entire drama. She means well, though.

Anyway, with the date already decided, and looming large, I found out that she has not booked the place, does not have all the addresses, and does not like the registry and wants them to choose a different one. What could I do? I love the bride-to-be, and she'll be my sister-in-law one day. So now I have all sorts of responsibilities that must be taken care of tomorrow.

The boyfriend has already declared that he will have nothing to do with this whole affair, and that I can't say he didn't warn me.

Ok, I'm going to make brownies now. But I'll be back, this weekend.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com