2003-03-23 - 12:10 a.m.

I almost forgot to write about this guy. On one side of the park, by himself, stood a man in a navy windbreaker. He held aloft a sign, with a picture of a boy, he was a boy, really, in an army uniform, his induction photo, a boy with round cheeks and earnest brown eyes beneath his hat. And above it the words "My Son, My Hero" It said "You'll look for him if we're attacked again" and "He's not there for Bush, he's there for you." Support our troops.

And I did feel something then, and I turned to look at Ellen and her eyes were filled with tears. No crowd of pro-troop supporters, just this father and his sign, but he did have a big crowd around him, listening to him speak, and you just can't not respond to that on some level, that personal struggle right out there in the open. You'd have to be an iceberg. So I guess he made his point, even all alone.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com