2003-04-04 - 6:17 p.m.

I skipped out of work early and had my hair done, and blown straight, so now I have movie star hair AND I got home at 5pm. As I type this, there is some strange sort of protest going on at the traffic triangle on the corner. I saw them when I approached it on the street, but I couldn't hear what they were saying, a small group, lots of students and some sort of organized minority group. But from up here, with the windows open, I can hear them clearly. Loudly. And they're playing music, amplifying it through an elaborate speaker system, although I still don't know exactly what they're protesting. And the music gives no clue. The war, I assume, but their message, whatever it may be, is muffled.

On the way into the park, I passed the hideous new NYU library they're building, and there are signs in the windows, posted, for a rally for the troops next weekend at ground zero, for construction crews and laborers. The signs all have added, in black marker, "Bring your hardhats."

And in the stationary store next to my hairdressers, I was standing in the aisle looking at notebooks when I felt something touching my shin. I looked down, and there was a miniature dachsund wearing a striped sweater and a red leather collar, standing on my leg with his eyes bulging out of his head and his rear end wagging madly. I got on the floor for some doggy time, until his owner peered around the corner and called him, and then I bought a journal, stopped for a coffee, and came home through the park. Still cold here, and the park was grey and almost deserted, but I saw a dogwood tree, bravely showing pink blossoms against the unrelenting grey cement.

So, you know, things are pretty good. I have to go down and switch over the laundry now, off to Boston this weekend. While I'm there I'm going to see J0e J@ckson play in a bar. You can still smoke in bars there, right? It's like a police state over here. This is supposed to make me give up smoking? HA. Give up bars, more like it.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com