2003-05-21 - 8:44 p.m.

You know, even when I take time in the morning, dry my hair and put in a little shine cream, do my makeup, and put on heels and jewelry, I may look good, but I never look polished. Maybe it's the curly hair, or maybe it's because I'm lazy and bad about manicures and I insist that my shoes be comfortable, but even when I leave the house feeling like I look GOOD, I see those other women. You know, the ones with glossy hair and perfect, understated makeup. Stylish high heels, matching bag, perfectly cut coat. And my building is full of them.

This morning, I admit, was not one of those I look GOOD mornings. It was raining and cold and grey, and I was late, and at the last minute had to bag the top I was wearing, as my chest decided to break out in some freaky prickly heat-like rash, and so it threw me off. Makeup, yes, lipstick, no. Wet hair, sneakers, baggy assed jeans (I lost a few pounds, which has caused me to lose my ass. This upsets me greatly.)

And the elevator door opens, and there she is. Perfectly streaked hair, discreet diamond stud earrings, a pencil skirt and black high heeled mules. A gorgeous, ridiculously simple yet hip raincoat, and a sleek leather bag. Dammit, I hate when that happens.

I actually had a good day today, crazy busy, but I hit the wall hard at 6:15 and headed home. Cleaned up a little, ate cheese and crackers and grapes for dinner, and here I am, candles burning and Sex 1n The C1ty reruns on TV. (oh, shut up)

The boyfriend is away tonight, so am off to revel in my internet time, off to read some journals. More later. You know, while I can.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com