2003-06-19 - 11:00 p.m.

Another grey day today, raining this morning. When I got to my office, I rode up in the elevator with a guy obviously going to the drug rehab down a floor, carrying a small tupperware jug type thing filled with something that looked suspiciously like urine. Lovely. Got to my office, hair like a fright wig from the humidity, only to have Maria tell me that I have black puddle-splatter across the back of my pants. Lovely start to the day. On the upside, though, when I went out to replace aforementioned splattered pants, I found FOUR pairs of pants, on sale, that fit me. So I guess that was the reward.

Tonight, though, it was nice, comparatively. It warmed up, and stopped raining, and although the sun wasn't actually shining, you could remember that it exists. Maria and I went to dinner at S0n Cuban0 in the meatpacking district. I love that place for it's ropa viejo, it's mojitos, and it's yucca. I hate it for the LOUD band that never stops, the shitty acoustics, the fact they wouldn't let us smoke OUTSIDE, and for the hair wrenchingly annoying girl next to us, who eventually drove us to wrap it up, signal frantically for the check, and hightail it out of there. *sigh*

We had a good time anyway, as we always do, and we ran into my boss there, mortifying her, as she was on a blind date. Heh. I actually felt bad, she looked like a deer caught in the headlights, fake smile plastered across her face, and she told me they were leaving because it was too crowded. I helpfully mentioned that Crisp0 was virtually empty when we passed it, and suggested they go there. At which point she leaned over and hissed through clenched teeth, "We're just going to go for a DRINK." After they left Maria said, "Poor Deb. She must be so horrified. And poor guy! He doesn't have a chance."

We then headed back by my place to try to get some coffee somewhere outside, a near-impossibility, as apparently the brief break in the rain and gloom sent people fighting for the few outside tables there are. We met the boyfriend, then decided to just come back here for coffee (aside - I have become ADDICTED to C@fe DuM0nde's coffee with chicory, and am now ordering it online - it's a sickness, I tell you) and I just put her in a cab, and the boyfriend went down to the corner to meet our friend, but I bailed, opting instead for an update, a little journal reading, and a relatively early bedtime.

So pretty good, today.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com