2003-06-19 - 11:51 p.m.

Before I forget again:

I went uptown a few weeks ago, for the rehearsal dinner of a wedding at Columbi@'s chapel. I took the train up to 110th, where I have never been, and you know, 116th Street on the west side is nowhere you want to be. And I emerged into a breathtakingly beautiful neighborhood. It felt, I don't know, BIGGER up there. The streets are wider, and the buildings lower, and the trees are older - I can't even describe how nice it was, how different. I love it down here, I'll never leave (never say never), but my part of the city is TEEMING. Although there are quiet little pockets, crooked mews and private gardens, the sidewalks are electric with energy from all those people. But up there it seemed the air was cleaner, and the sky was clearer, and there was more breathing room. And I got there early and sat alone at the bar with a glass of Shiraz for half an hour, looking out the window and just SITTING. Maybe I'll start to visit.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com