2003-06-22 - 4:18 p.m.

On my way to Chelsea Market today, I approached Hudson Street and saw a woman crossing the street. She had dyed red hair, and pale, doughy skin, and she was wearing a bustier, a garter belt, stockings and heels with a tiny camo miniskirt that barely covered her (neither small nor firm) butt. It was like dough pouring over the edges of all those straps and laces. Immediately behind her was a trio, two men and a woman, and this woman had that goth look too, the white skin and red hair, but was dressed in cargo pants and boots.I looked at them idly, my mind still on the bondage biscuit, and as I turned behind them onto Hudson I realized that both the men, one who looked like an old rocker and one, younger, who looked like any old geek on the street, were somehow CHAINED to her as she walked between them. I sped up to see, and they both wore wide leather dog collars, with D rings on the front that had chain leashes attached. The woman had one leash wrapped around each wrist. They paused to go into a deli ( and I wondered if she'd order a latte for herself and two bowls of water for her dogs, and debated following them in to see if I could see them drink from dog bowls) and as I passed I glanced at the man walking next to me, and we cracked up. "Well, " I said, "Happy Sunday!" He laughed and said, "A little late for the walk of shame, isn't it? They must go out like that all the time." Ha. And then, on the next block, you could hear the music being played by the subway performers, coming up from the subway grate on the sidewalks. A loud low drumbeat you could feel under your feet.

And then I went to the market, and bought Fat Witch brownies and a prosciutto panini, sourdough boule from Amy's and french beans and mesclun salad and peaches, almonds and dried cherries and a roasting chicken, and yesterday I bought arugula and potatoes and baby strawberries at the Greenmarket, so tonight I'll cook. I went to Cit@rella to get the chicken (I know, I know.) and asked the produce guy about the plums, packaged on styrofoam, that I bought there last week. They were unbelievable, these plums, dark red on the inside and sweet like candy, and tiny. And he told me they were SUGARPLUMS. I did not know there was any such thing, thought they were fairy tale creations. Anyway, they told me they would CALL me when they came in, and I am mighty happy about that.

Made plans for this week and next weekend with Jane, talked to my Mom, and now I'm home, updating before the boyfriend gets in. A little closet reorganizing, dinner and then the couch and the paper. Happy Sunday.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com