2003-07-17 - 1:03 a.m.

Road rage. I experienced much of it today, and I think this is what happens when you stop driving. I cut out of work early today to get the car and go to NJ, to my parents house for my brothers last night in town. It was actually really great, all my aunts and uncles and their kids were there, but on the way out of the city, at 4 PM for Chrissakes, I sat in traffic on Canal Street for 45 minutes, within sight of the tunnel entrance. Why? Because a million ASSHOLES decide to ride all the way up to the first light in the right lane, and then MERGE OVER at the last minute to avoid the traffic. Causing even more traffic.

One woman in particular cut me off blatantly and fearlessly, while putting on makeup and hanging her fake-french manicure claws out the window. It took every ounce of self control for me not to ram her. So that took an hour, and then I flew after that, and stayed for about four hours. I didn't leave NJ until 10:30, and I was confident that I'd be home in 35 minutes, and that I'd get a prime street parking spot as well. However, they closed one lane of the tunnel, and the result was - yes, the bottleneck. After another 45 minutes, I finally made it into the tunnel, and about halfway through, crawling along at a snails pace, I see a construction vehicle in the closed lane. And as I pass, I see it says 'H0gan's Sawing and Drilling'. Not exactly the kind of thing you want to see when you're stuck in bumper to bumper underneath the Hudson River. Anyway, I'm home, and I did get that prime spot, and now I'm off to bed.

Tomorrow I have to tape a satellite broadcast for work that hundreds of people will see. And I have two giant hormonal zits on my face. Lovely.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com