2003-10-15 - 10:44 p.m.

I had a lovely weekend, dinner at the diner with our friends on Friday, and the day with my old high school friend J, and a night home alone on Saturday, then a movie (My L1fe W1th0ut Me - amazing) and cocktails and shoe shopping (black square toed motorcycle boots with the straps across the instep and the silver ring! So happy!) and sushi with my friend T, in from B0ston. And there was so much I wanted to write, but my membership ran out and stupid ass P@y P@l pissed me off and didn't put my thing through 'till Monday. Sorry, it's all gone. And you know, I never can write these in Word or anything and then paste them in. I can only do it directly in the box, live. Strange.

Anyway, yesterday morning I was walking down 13th Street, and there is a restaurant in the basement of a brownstone there, the last business in a row of homes, and out front it has a little gated garden, of sorts. Brown stone, surrounded by a wrought iron fence, marking it's little territory, and they have a mosaic bench out front, and a little table. A planter filled with sand for cigarette butts. The whole space is only maybe 20x10. It was a beautiful day, and as I passed by I saw that there was a woman sitting on the bench, with the paper and some coffee. I smiled, wondering if she'd unlatched the gate and locked it behind her, or if she'd merely stepped over it to get there. And I felt her, you know? Trying to claim a little space for herself, the restaurant not even open for lunch, no employees for at least a few hours. Not really alone, of course - a steady stream of people passing right by her, but the ILLUSION of a space of one's one. Although she couldn't escape the people or the noise, at least she could claim a little physical space, outside. And on a related note, I am never never never going to be able to afford a two bedroom apt with outdoor space in this neighborhood. Not ever.

And last week I went to a shoe store in Union Square, and ran into the crazy cat lady from my floor. We recognized each other, said hello, and her salesman was bringing her the shoes she was buying as she launched into a long and much too intimate conversation with him. I tried on my shoes, walked around, and bought them, and she was STILL talking. But she stopped when she saw me walk past with a wave, bag over my shoulder, to ask me to wait for her so we could walk home together. So she could continue her NON STOP TALKING for the maximum amount of time. Always good to know your neighbors, though.

Ok, I'm out. Maybe more tomorrow.

Oh, and one more thing. Can Jess1c@ S1mps0n really be that fucking stupid? Can that be true? Jesus H, I am glued to the TV when that show is on, incredulous. And then she does that sexy video, you know, the sweetest s1n, I think, and I see it and I just think GAAAAHHH. She's too dumb to even recognize a sin. Now that I've heard her speak, that is the UN sexiest video ever made.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com