2003-10-16 - 9:36 p.m.

I went to dinner last night with my friend Alison. I haven't seen her in almost a year, we worked together years ago and have kept in only sporadic touch. But our lives seem to move in parallel lines - when I worked with her, in 1994, I was newly married and she was engaged. We lost touch for a while, after she got married, and then after I got divorced we found each other again, just as she was getting divorced. We spent a summer in a beach house together, right after, and entered the dating world again, together. We didn't speak for almost a year, and when I spoke to her again we both had new boyfriends, were trying to navigate trust and intimacy again. Next time, we had both moved in with our boyfriends. It's so bizarre, and also somehow comforting, and I can't help but think that it's a good premise for a story.

And tonight I had dinner with P, and then we found and hopefully booked his 40th birthday celebration! We found a villa, a farmhouse really, in Tusc@ny. For a week. There will be somewhere between 8 and 15 of us, and we spent way too much time taking virtual tours and mapping distances. Amazingly, renting a villa there is far cheaper than staying in a hotel, and it will be an unforgettable birthday trip for him, I'd imagine. I can hardly wait.

Oh, and today at work I got a call from an old friend of the ex and mine. Who gave me a most alarming update on the life of said evil ex, who is apparently living in a Columbian druglord-style mansion on the water in the cheesiest town in a trashy southern state. A far cry from his former persona, which was more along the lines of country club good ol' boy. There's more, but I really can't talk about it, because I don't want y'all to know what kind of fucked up I was stupid enough to marry.

Hee.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com