2003-12-19 - 11:07 p.m.

It's Christmas, and I've been reading all these journals of people getting ready. Having dinner ready and the ornaments "all laid out" when the husband gets home on tree-trimming night, Christmas music on. Making a ritual of meals and decoration- viewing. I love all that, I do, and it's how I grew up and always expected my own life to be. But I gotta tell you, I read some of this stuff and I think, could I ever POSSIBLY pull that off? And, you know, still be ME?

I read plenty of people who have holidays similar to mine as well. People who spend entire days wandering around the mall, glassy eyed, and come home, mystified that all that effort had produced exactly one gift. People who really MEANT to get those pointsettias, but hey, I got the tree, right? And the wreath? I call it good enough.

I participate in all my family Christmas rituals, happily. But the thought of producing them on my own? I don't know.

But anyway. Have had an INSANE week, Christmas parties three nights and a play the other, and tonight I am in my pajamas at 10pm, here since 6pm, trying to chill. We had my office party last night, and it was amazing. It was an old school hip hop thing, with some 80's rappers, and while it wasn't my kind of thing, I could still appreciate the effort. Then I came home and went back out, to meet the boyfriend at his friends' Christmas party at a bar, and it was surprisingly quite fun. Although I was forced to dance with my Arch Enemy friend of the boyfriend, who happened to be the birthday boy. Earned many, many points with the boyfriend for being a sport about it, too. Home at 3am, many drinks, contact high from work party, - it's been a long, long time since I've done that. It was fun, but I couldn't do it on a regular basis.

And today, I feel like SHIT. Ran around like a maniac today running errands, buying last minute Secret Santa gifts, cards, shipping out my Operation Santa gifts. My hangover hit me full force around 1pm, and I hung in until about 4:30, and accomplished absolutely nothiing even vaguely work-related.

But I have managed, this week, to get the tree put up and decorated, three kinds of Christmas cookies made, gifts wrapped (the ones I have - not done shopping yet) and sent cards, and I saw the tree at R0ckefe11er Center, and St. Patricks,and the windows at Saks. We also drove through the Park at night, past the amazingly lit trees around T@vern on the Green. I love Christmas in NY, and am getting a little time to enjoy it this year. And if I get my ass up and out of this house by 9 tomorrow, I can actually probably finish my shopping and enjoy it some more Saturday night before cookie baking at my Mom's on Sunday. *sigh* - love the cookie baking, love the quality time, hate the traffic.

Out by 9am. It'd be a Christmas Miracle.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com