2004-01-19 - 10:22 a.m.

It's been so long, again, that I can only do this half hearted list type entry, to unclog my head.

The simple wedding I spoke of in my previous entry? Not quite as simple as I'd hoped. As a matter of fact, I am currently procrastinating my chore of calling around to all the B&B's in the area to try to find one that doesn't require a goddamn two night stay at $200 a night. So, while we finalized the place and reserved one guesthouse, we still have all the little details. I was somehow under the delusion that all I'd have to do was buy a dress and reserve the restaurant. But someone reminded me that we needed pictures, so I add the photographer. We went to see the chapel, and it desperately needs flowers. *sigh* If I had it my way, we'd elope.

And the rings. Funny thing about the rings: I chose three different bands that stack on the same finger. I absolutely love them, they're beautiful and vintage looking and different. I'm wearing two of them now, in lieu of an engagement ring, and will use the third for the ceremony. And while I have gotten a lot of compliments on them, there is also a faction who doesn't understand why I wouldn't have a rock. This blows my mind.

As you probably already know, I have a rock. A beautiful, two -carat, platinum set engagement ring. Sitting in a safe deposit box. This time around, it's not about the ring.

But some people look at me strangely. Or pityingly, like my man wouldn't spring for the ice. But hey, it's a remarkably efficient way to separate the social wheat from the chaff. Heh.

It's 10:30 and I'm sitting here in my pajamas, drinking coffee and NOT calling any B&Bs. I am going into the office today for a few hours, although it is technically closed, to hold down the fort so my coworkers, who observe MLK Day, can be off. Don'tcha wish you worked with me? We're doing it on the sly, as all our management is in LA. The inmates running the asylum. It's fine, though, I'll get a few things done in the quiet, and maybe update again later.

We are going away this weekend, with my brother and his family and my parents for my Mom's birthday. Somewhere WARM.

I will happy to get out of this arctic circle, I'll tell you that for free.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com