2004-02-17 - 8:53 p.m.

So the other day I was standing on the corner of 53rd and Lex, waiting for the light to change. It was cold and grey and frozen-over slushy, with the wet asphalt and sidewalks shining through the grey crust. Immediately to my left, just past the crosswalk, two workmen were unloading a candy vending machine from a truck. I was lost in thought, after making a peripheral mental note of the unloading, when the hand truck slipped off the ramp and a thousand pound vending machine flew off and smashed to bits on the ground. Not a foot away from me. As a matter of fact, a $100,000 bar bounced off my foot.

And I felt lucky, right then, aware of being lucky that I didn't get crushed by it. I realized that I do feel lucky, almost all the time. Lucky to have the boyfriend, and a healthy, supportive family, and an apartment in the very place I've always wanted to live, and a job I like with an ample salary. Lucky to have ducked tragedy another day, missed being crushed by something much bigger, much darker, than a vending machine.

Sometimes you just need a near-death experience involving a candy machine to bring it home.


I had drinks tonight with Maria and Jerry, and on the way out of the train station there was a skinny, dirty woman wrapped in a filthy Mexican blanket. She was hollow-eyed, with gray teeth and sunken cheeks, and she was begging in a pitiful voice, I'm so hungry, please, so hungry...

I had to go to the deli across the street, to get money from the ATM and a pack of smokes, and I thought about it for a second, and thought, even junkies have to eat. So I bought her a sandwich, and a bagel and some fruit and nuts and raisins, some granola bars. A yogurt shake and a bottle of water. And I went back across the street, and I hung the bag on her outstretched finger. She said, "Thank you, thank you. What is it? What's in there?" And I told her, and she said, "Can I ask you something please? Can you give me some money?"

Bitch, ASK for money. If I want to give money I do, but don't ask me for food someone else needs when what you need is a fix.

But anyway. I'll still do it. Because I feel lucky.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com