2004-05-02 - 2:02 a.m.

I had a lovely day today - my Mom came in around 10:30, and she brought me a gift from her friend M - four of her good coffee mugs, that I'd always admired. And in the card she wrote that I have always been one of her favorite people - and that she didn't want me to have to wait to get the mugs. I am really unbelievably touched, as I'd mentioned it to her in passing many years ago, that I liked them - I told my Mom we must get together with her soon.

So it was gorgeous today, 75 and sunny, and we kicked around the neighborhood and did a little shopping and picked up my altered wedding dress. We definitely got some good quality time in - we talked about the wedding plans, and how I loved the city, and she told me that if I decided to stay in the city and have children, she'd do what she had to do - she wanted to be able to babysit and see the baby, and all she asks is that I be accessible to her. I told her that we'd not be moving back to my hometown in any case, but certainly not out of her range of accessibility. We talked about how I was as a child, and the way we all react as adults to what happened in our formative years, and how she felt about the situation with my grandmother. We got gyros at a street fair and sat in Uni0n Squ@re for lunch, then got coffee at J0e, and we sat on a stoop and drank it and smoked cigarettes while we talked. We went to Chelse@ M@rket and bought F@t Witch brownies and broccoli rabe and beautiful eggplant, 2 for $1.99, a bargain. (Shit, I just spilled tea on my keyboard, and now my backspace is stuck - it will probably be buggered tomorrow.) And we talked about that fact that neither of us is a big clothes shopper, but anywhere we are we'll go into a food shop. When I leave the country, I love to go to their supermarkets - the boyfriend thinks I'm nuts, but we always stop and look. And I hauled home only this from Tuscany: 5 bottles of olive oil, 6 bottles of wine, a vineyards red wine vinegar, a sampler thing of flavored olive oil, and a big stinky cheese. Heh. Acting like the guineau grandma I swore I'd never be. All my grandmothers sisters travel with food - they get on the plane with canvas tote bags, containing salami and pepperoni and locatelli, cubanelles and bread - little cream colored, garlic-stinking bags.I spent a semester in London my sophomore year of college, and my grandmother came to visit me carrying a green tupperware container of eggplant parmigiana,and when I flew to the Keys to visit my cousin Jack, she insisted that I take two foil-wrapped pepper and egg sandwiches for him, because "he always loves my peppers and eggs." Heh. My mother used to live in Fl0rida, and bemoaned the lack of good Italian food in her area - she always used to try to talk me into flying with the guinea grandma bag, but I'd never do it. My,how things change.

Then I came home and called my brother, talked to Ellen and her fiance, and made plans with my friend Deb, in town for a bachelorette party, ordered in dinner, and promptly passed out on the couch. I woke to the phone at quarter to ten, and decided to rally. I sometimes feel that too many nights I give in, just come home and eat dinner and veg out on the couch, so I put on some makeup (day 2 of movie star hair) and put on some jeans and ventured out to meet Deb and her party at Red R0cks. And I would like to state, for any of you visiting from somewhere else, that that bar SUCKS ASS. Everyone in there was 12, and the girls from the bachelorette party were wearing glittery pink boas, and the young chick bartender (or bar ho, more acurately) stood on the bar in low slung jeans and an American flag bikini top, swigged from a bottle of bourbon, and then bent some guy backwards over the bar and SPIT THE LIQUOR INTO HIS MOUTH. Honestly. I'm much too old for that nonsense. Also, a tender young boy of 24 tried pitifully to flirt with me. I'm also much too old for that. It's funny, as my male friends get older, the women they look at get younger - I don't think it's the same for women - at least it's not for me. I have no interest in a stammering, earnest young boy, no matter how hard his abs are. *thinking about that for a second* Yeah, abs or no. I can no longer have a purely visual attraction - I can and do admire, but that's not what gets me going, if you know what I mean. So I ignore him, and watch out of the corner of my eye as he stares drunkenly at my profile, shuffling his feet and wetting his lips before leaning in, "So, uh, where do you work?"

So I left quick, and came home and talked to the boyfriend, and now I'm drinking tea and smoking cigarettes, updating before the tea freezes up my computer. Rain forecast for tomorrow, which I'm looking forward to, as I plan to spend the day in my pajamas, cleaning out my closets. I'll catch you up on that excitement tomorrow.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com