2004-07-18 - 12:26 a.m.

I have been discussing dating with my friend Ken, who has recently and reluctantly re-entered the dating pool. It's really interesting, dating again after divorce. Your dating skills are obsolete; you go out and feel like a stranger on a strange planet. I remember my first prolonged dating bout - with the Viking. I was used to being married, used to being myself, and had no other MO. Which freaked out the Viking to no end - I didn't observe the little niceties of modern courtship, didn't know that I was supposed to agree to go to the boring surfboard store instead of taking off and getting my nails done, so that he would feel I was INTERESTED. I flat out told him he drank too much, and cared too much what his friends thought of him. Not exactly relationship-inviting behavior, I realize.But you know, I was worried about me.

Ken is doing internet dating, which I encouraged. As a woman, you have an easier time of it, meeting people. In a big city like this, men smile at you or seek out your assistance in the produce aisle, talk politics to you at the counter where you sit eating breakfast. But women don't do that, usually, with men. You know, anyone can be a lunatic. And Ken has a daughter, and a house mortgaged to the hilt, so he doesn't get out much. It's a good way to focus your dating pool; he's able to request women with children, women who have been divorced, so he can stay in his comfort zone. Unlike me,up there. Heh. Tonight he went out with a woman that was crazy, but you know, they can't all be good.

I spent the day today shopping with my goddaughter, who is 17, 6 feet tall, and absolutely stunning, but has no confidence whatsoever. She's smart and funny, but is painfully self-aware, and has few friends. I told her recently that she was beautiful, the most beautiful of us all, and she was SHOCKED. So we walked for miles today, shopping, and I pointed out everyone that looked at her, man or woman. I told her that at the risk of sounding like our grandmother, when she turned 35 and looked at pictures of herself now, at 17, she would wonder what the hell was wrong was with her, how she could have thought she was fat, or ugly. She said that boys were starting to like her now, and she didn't know how to handle it, she was so used to them being mean to her. She told me that when a cute football player was talking to her, she just smiled and nodded because she was so afraid she'd say something stupid. It's a sin, what kids do to other kids. But we had a lovely little mini-weekend, walking and trying on clothes and having lunch, and after I took her to the train I went and had a manicure and pedicure, and an iced coffee, and I took some dresses to the tailor, where a nice, friendly metrosexual and his girlfriend let me go ahead of them since I had two measly dresses and he had 14 shopping bags.

I did a little shopping, ran a few errands, and did the laundry, then made myself dinner and cleaned up this place, changed the sheets, lit the candles, and am about to go have some chocolate pudding. With whipped cream. It's been a good day.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com