2004-08-19 - 10:37 p.m.

So, I'm back, weeks later, but this time I have a good excuse.

I'm pregnant.

Pregnant.

I'm not really sure I've even wrapped my head around it yet,although yesterday, at my 9 week appointment, I saw the baby. Or more accurately, I saw the lima bean. But - the lima bean had a clearly visible beating heart. And man, was I unprepared. I even told M not to come, that it was just to more accurately date how far along I was, and I just didn't expect that.

To some degree, because it's so early, I'm in a bit of denial. Pregnant, yes. But childbirth, development, baby naming..... not yet, my friends, not just yet.

So I've given up the cancer sticks and the caffeine (coffee tastes bad to me - ME, the coffeehound - funny how your body knows best) and the alcohol, I'm taking the prenatal vitamins, and eating properly. The terrible, constant nauseau is now abating a bit, although I'm still bone tired, still not sleeping through the night, but I'm generally feeling better every day.

And I promise not to turn this into a pregnancy journal, but right now? I don't have much else to talk about.

Pregnant. How very bizarre.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com