2005-02-17 - 9:41 p.m.

As usual, ages since I've been here. In case anyone is still reading, I have not gone off and had the baby - I'm just.. well.. wiped out, I guess. I often have good intentions, but they don't seem to propel me here.

Five weeks to go - I am feeling full up with baby - I can feel every move he makes now, and this kid is ACTIVE. He's also still a little stubborn - he can be doing somersaults, but if someone other than M or I puts their hand on my belly, he stops. Little bugger. It's driving my mother nuts.

And the other day, I made an expectant-mother friend in my neighborhood! Amen to that. We actually "met" on a NYC baby board, and on Wednesday we met for real, for breakfast, at Sh0ps1ns, my old time favorite place for breakfast. I got there early, and as always there was open conversation between all the lone diners there, so I had fun before she even got there. Then she showed up, 3 weeks closer to her due date than I, and we had a great breakfast and agreed that we'd do it again, both before we delivered and after - she, too, is giving up work and concerned about the transition, and she literally lives two blocks from me. I can't tell you how happy this makes me, as I am more than a little nervous about giving up my 15+ year career and being home all day with a newborn.

And things between M and I could not be better - I'm calling it hormones, but I am ridiculously appreciative of him and our relationship these days, so it's all good.

I am still working, and modifying my routine only by taking cabs instead of the subway (its flu season in NY, don'tcha know... plus the stairs are making me winded) which is lovely but negating all the $$ I saved by quitting smoking. Ah, well.

I am also looking forward to the weekends like never before - I am torn between trying to get a million things done and wanting to just lay around for two straight days, but I'm finding a balance. Sort of. We've been going out to dinner (while we can) but that's about all I'm up for - ready for bed by 10. I got home tonight at 8pm (work, of course) and moved around all the crap from my showers (two showers... lots of lovely, fabulous presents.. all I need now is a bigger apartment.And some pacifiers) Tomorrow the changing table is coming, while I'm at work, of course, so I have to make room in the foyer for them to deliver.
Okay, I'm even boring myself, so I'm ending this now. Maybe I'll be more interesting tomorrow.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com