2005-05-12 - 10:24 a.m.

I'd really love to write an entry, a real one, but The Warden will not have it. We are currently getting naps only in the morning (or outside in the stroller), and I have to use those to do frivolous things like take a shower and eat and haul the smelly ass diapers out to the garbage. As soon as I think he has established some sort of routine, he changes it - so someday I'll be back, I hope. In the meantime, 3 minutes is all I get.

As much as I love being with the baby, I sometimes miss things I could do before him, which is normal, I guess. But sometimes I miss things I never even did. The other day I was walking in Huds0n River P@rk, and I noticed that they put tennis courts in - and I thought, damn, tennis courts - I could come down here and play tennis on a nice day. Dudes, I don't play tennis. After years of private tennis lessons as a kid, I still can't hit the ball. I guess they can't teach hand-eye coordination. Heh. But there I was, pushing the stroller past, being all wistful about it.

And last night I went to yoga, which was awesome, and really all the going out I need - I feel completely rejuvenated today, and will definitely have to make a habit of it, a couple of nights a week. I also found a bunch of baby and mom yoga classes, so maybe I'll try that as well. Anyway, it's a funny thing - during the part of warmup where you visualize, I immediately visualized my old tried and true white light. Except this time, in the middle of the light, was my babys little face, with his eyes wide open and his tiny lips pursed. Amazing how things change, what an organic thing this mother love is.

And on the way home I passed a new, fabulous restaurant, and looked in at groups of people drinking wine and eating, and I missed that, too. But not enough to trade for it.

Ok, gotta go if I'm going to shower today.

last - next

last five entries:
done - 2005-09-16
playgroup, my ass - 2005-09-15
late, but heartfelt - 2005-09-13
she lives - 2005-08-18
cheese me - 2005-05-20

hosted by DiaryLand.com